I'm a beginner at scripting, what are some good practices I could do to practice what I've learned?

I’ve watched all AlvinBlox’s beginner scripting tutorials and PeasFactory’s beginner and advanced scripting tutorials, and want to challenge myself, but have no ideas on what I could try and script to test my skills. Do you have any tips?

30 Likes

If I were you, I would try to work with some usage of the DataStoreService. It’s really important, and pretty much every game worth playing on this platform uses it in one form or another. If I were you, I would practice the creation variables or Integer Values and saving their changed values to a datastore.

8 Likes

Hey! Thanks for checking out my videos. I would say to try make little cool things that challenge you but also aren’t too hard. For example, you might want to create some big red balls from Wipeout. It’s not too challenging but you would need to create an event to detect touches and then change a property in the player’s humanoid to make them fall off (Sit) (Other methods can also achieve this). Once you’ve grasped that, you could go one step further and make the balls dirty once their hit, maybe make them wobble around, etc etc. Get stuck and then ask people, it’s great to make mistakes. Once done, move onto something else, make what you want to make, but don’t get too advanced too quickly.

51 Likes

Moving platforms! They’re a great oppotunity to start learning a service you’ll probably a lot, TweenService but also learning CFrames.

Start off with using Position/Orientation (Vector3), once you’ve got to grips with that move onto CFrames.

Here’s some links to start with TweenService:

6 Likes

Some things programmers/scripters try when testing their abilities would be:

Easy

• Proximity Doors
• Music Player
• Calculator App

Intermediate

• Weapons
• Creating a To-Do app
• NPC AI
• Client to Server Authentication (and vise versa)

Advanced

• A vehicle chassis
• Placement system