I'm trying to learn Lua scripting, What's the best way to do so?

Howdy! My names Toast and I’ve been floating around Roblox since ~2018. Recently I’ve gotten more into the development side of things, specifically working as a game designer, which I’ve found to be fairly enjoyable. However at this point I want to be able to script my ideas myself, and so want to learn Lua.

This is NOT my first time working with code. I am proficient already in HTML and CSS, and I know the basics of Lua, but not enough to code a game. I’ve watched tons of “This is the best way to learn Lua!” videos, and at this point I think Im best off just asking some actual scripters.

So, I leave you with this question: How did you learn scripting, and if you could go back and learn scripting again from day 1 knowing what you do now, (How to best become knowledgeable about it that is) how would you go about learning it?

Thanks to anybody who takes the time to respond, its greatly appreciated!

5 Likes

This is simply how I learnt scripting. If I didn’t know what to do, I look up what to do. And if I can’t find the solution, I simply ask a bunch of questions. I also didn’t remember the code I asked questions about on the spot for the solutions I found. If they couldn’t answer, then I just have to experiment around. Most likely, they will have an answer.

But the important thing is once you have those solutions, understand each line of code and what it does. If I didn’t understand? I just mess with the code, take a break from the frustration. Eventually over time, you will learn.

Conclusion, It is essential to test things out and ask questions. Memorization is important, but understanding is necessary.

2 Likes

This.
ce10b67a000f6e93e8bd25a047df9cf8819816a2

For me, I have started out by analyzing the code of others and learning from it, then tried to make my own stuff from it. That’s the art of skidding.