Implementing Raycasting to state whether use AI Pathfinding or not

I’m currently working on a combat system for one of my projects, recreating it to be exact.
I’ve came through the obstacle of efficiency of the MoveToPlr function, which is supposed to move the mob from its position to the tagged player.
Turns out the path generating process takes time, and would be easier if used a conditioner to state whether it would be useful or not, as there is a high chance of having a clear path to the player meanwhile calculating the path.
The solution is probably raycasting, but I’ve never used it before so advice and techniques are very appreciated.
Below is the current function of MoveToPlr:

return {
function(Target)
	local Distance
	local function Start() return HumRoot.Position end
	local function Final() return Target.HumanoidRootPart.Position - (Mob.HumanoidRootPart.CFrame.LookVector * 2) end
	local WaypointIndex = 0
	local Waypoints
	local Dest

--Implement Raycasting to know if I would need to use AI or not.

local function FollowPath()
		Waypoints = PathFinder:FindPath(Start(), Final())
		WaypointIndex = WaypointIndex + 1
		Dest = Waypoints[WaypointIndex]
		Hum:MoveTo(Dest.Position);
		HumRoot.Rotator.CFrame = CFrame.new(Start(), Target.HumanoidRootPart.Position);
		HumRoot.Rotator.P = 2000;
	end

end
}
1 Like

First, let me begin by that pathfinding auto-calculates this, there is no need to do the Ray Tracing.

I would not recommend ray tracing in here, there is a built in (mostly unknown) function of Camera that is called GetPartsObscuringTarget that you can use with a camera facing the player from the head of the AI Entity.

Edit: In the castPoints array, just use the Vector3 of the HumanoidRootPart of the target player

Hope I helped :slight_smile:

2 Likes

By that do you mean I’m better off using GetPartsObscuringTarget instead of raytracing, or using neither at all?