Continuing the effort started in the December release “Improved Save Experience in Studio!”, we have made additional Save experience improvements that enable you to easily track when and where your work saves. We want to ensure that saving in Studio is effortless, iterative, and worry-free.
In December, we announced the beta feature where Ctrl+S (Cmd+S in Mac) saves the place to the location you last saved to. Thank you all for providing feedback! We have been monitoring the comments and fixing bugs for this feature, and we are now ready to make it generally available.
We will first roll out this change to a percentage of Studio users and slowly increase it to 100% of users by the end of March. The gradual release enables us to keep monitoring for bugs and feedback that we may have missed.
It’s important to understand if your data is saved successfully and where it’s saved. We made the following improvements to the save messages in Studio:
- The Output window shows the place name and save location after the save is successful (highlighted in blue in the picture below).
- The Status bar in the lower-left corner shows when a save is in progress and when it’s done. The message states the place name and save location. The status bar message is shown for five seconds (highlighted in red in the picture below).
Save status messages also inform you if you have uncommitted scripts when you save a place. If you have Team Create on and are editing scripts, saving the place doesn’t commit scripts. This prevents you from inadvertently committing incomplete script drafts and messing up the Team Create session, where multiple collaborators may be working. If you have incomplete script drafts when you save the place, the save status shows “Your uncommitted script changes have not been saved."
NOTE: If you have Team Create on and Collaborative Editing off, performing a Save As or Publish As to a new place saves even uncommitted script changes to the new place. In this case, the save status message informs you of this action.
For example, if I save my current game “Golf game” as another game in Roblox called “Golf game v2,” I would see the below message about my uncommitted scripts:
Under the File menu in Studio, there used to be a “Recent Files” section that only listed local place files that were opened or saved recently. This section has been updated to “Recent Games” and now shows a list of all places that were opened or saved recently, regardless of whether the place is saved locally or in Roblox. If the place is saved in Roblox, a cloud icon appears next to the name. If the place is saved locally, the place name has “.rbxl” appended to it.
Many thanks to yipiokay, Brouhahaha, GeneralTso58, tamtamchu, and SwirlTheNumbers for continuing to improve the save experience!
As always, we are keen to hear your feedback! Please let us know what you think in the comments below.