Inserting models and editing them?

Hi everyone. Please keep in mind that I am not experienced in the field of building and modelling, so don’t go too hard on me if I did everything wrong. Which I probably did.

There are 2 things I would like to accomplish:
1 - Insert a car model from a website.
2 - Remove the wheels from that model.

You can keep reading for a little more context or jump straight to the replies, it doesn’t concern me.

I downloaded a cool car model off https://poly.google.com (more specifically this model right here) and downloaded the model into the “obj” and “mtl” files.

I created a mesh-part in Roblox Studio and uploaded the .obj file as a mesh. However, the model is grey and has no texture at all, and I was wondering how I can fix that? I tried uploading the .mtl file as a texture but that did not work.

The second issue I encountered was… I have no clue how to remove the wheels!!!
I can’t leave it on because the car would just be a blob driving around crashing into walls. Any help with this issue would also be appreciated.

Eagerly awaiting your responses,
Winky.
xoxo

2 Likes

I don’t think you would be able to remove just the wheels in Roblox. The best way of doing this is opening up blender, and removing it joint by joint (unless they have made them into groups in blender). If they have made it all one model, you will have to remove it joint by joint.

Hope this helped!
Happy Developing

As @MrDurpyy mentioned, there is no way to edit meshes in ROBLOX studio. He also mentioned going into Blender and removing the wheels vertex by vertex, I agree that that is most likely your only option. I would like to add to that, that if you hover your mouse over the wheels in Blender and press “L” on your keyboard, it will select all linked geometry. This should help you with deleting the wheels and would save you a lot of effort as you don’t have to select each individual vertex. Hope this helped!