Is it better to make a game based on a trend rather than making an original concept?

I was just randomly wondering, is it better to publish a game following a trend going around Roblox, for example, Su tart games, rather than making an original concept?

Trend games can sometimes get millions of visits in weeks, but then die out soon, so do original concept games have a steadier player-base, and would it result in more visits/revenue in the long term?

Sorry if this shouldn’t be in this category, I’m fairly new to the Devforums.

2 Likes

You want a long term gain and not a short term one. So make an original concept game.

3 Likes

Original game is really best idea. The problem with trending game is, many people will play, then in less than 2 month later, it died. All of us have these trend trap. This is the video about trend trap

6 Likes

I think it’s what you want because you could keep on creating games that are on trend and keep earning about the same amount of R$. But a long term game could earn you more depending on what the game is and how people find out about it. And also a long term game could take longer to take off and get a steady fan base so really it’s up to you.

-Archie4lifeyodude

2 Likes

I think I would prefer a steadier player-base. Thanks for the reply!

This is entirely dependent on your end goal. A lot of games on Roblox do well if they’re directly inspired by existing trends, such as Among Us currently or inspired by popular game modes and mechanics from other games.

If we take a look at popular games like Adopt Me, Adopt Me isn’t exactly original but their marketing strategies allow for them to maintain player retention and engagement accordingly. They can do this because they have created some form of originally with the content they put into their game even if their game loop isn’t original.