Is it possible to import Excel or Python data?

1. What do you want to achieve? Keep it simple and clear!

I want to import Excel data.

1. What is the issue? Include screenshots / videos if possible!

I want to import Excel Data

1. What solutions have you tried so far? Did you look for solutions on the Developer Hub?

I have searched here for weeks. I used the keywords like Excel, table, etc.
But I could not find a good answer.

Hello Everyone.

I am a novice developer but have developed several games so far including the followings.

Math Obby & Playgrounds

Math Obby & Playgrounds 2

Fraction’s Pizza Obby

In these 3 games, basically obby blocks are consisted of quiz boards so that players can learn about math.

Now I am developing an ESL game in which players can learn about English grammar.
And I am developing a quiz board set now.
For math game, making quiz boards were not so hard because targets are numbers
and I could use random() to generate questions and answers automatically.

However, for English grammar, it looks more complicated.
So I want to prepare Excel file like below:

ExcelQuizData

If I can import this kind of Excel files into Roblox Studio and prepare the matrix data,
I think it would be much easier to make the new game.

If it is impossible to import Excel data, is it possible to import Python data?
(Because I can convert Excel file to Python file with pandas.)

And so I will appreciate if you guys give me any advice or idea.

4 Likes

Why not just convert the excel data into text then using string manipulation to turn it into a table.

2 Likes

Thank you for the quick reply.
Does “text” mean CSV file?
Is it possible to import CSV file?

One reason I want to use Excel is for data management
because these questions and answers may be changed often.
I want to use cell reference and only change Excel file if possible.

Another reason I want to use Excel is for players including teachers and parents.