Is it possible to paint on a roblox rig (e.g. blender) and export that as a 2D shirt?

Hey all! I was wondering if it was possible to make 2D shirts/pants by directly painting on a roblox rig, such as in blender or substance painter, then export that in roblox’s shirt/pants image format.

I’m really looking for how to do this in this particular way rather than hand-drawing shirts as I’m trying to experiment with transposing patterns (in this case, texture layers) made for hats over to shirts/pants. Drawing the pattern over by hand manually would make keeping the scale of the pattern consistent extremely challenging, and not very feasible.

I’ve tried looking for how to do this online but everything I could find relating to making shirts in blender or substance painter related to 3D clothes rather than 2D ones.

If anyone knows if this is possible, and how it can be done, let me know!

1 Like

I’m not an expert on 3D modeling and there’s probably an easier way to do this, but I believe you could do this through editing UVs in Blender. It may be a little time-consuming though.

I’m assuming you’re using the block rig. I would recommend using R6 over R15 as both are about the same and R15 has much more parts and faces which would make editing the UVs more difficult.

I’d also recommend separating the rig parts to make it easier to select and paint its faces in Blender. You can always put the parts back together in Blender if you need to see how your clothing looks.

Here’s what your rig should look like:

Then you can export the rig as an OBJ through right-clicking the rig in the Explorer and selecting “Export Selection…”.

After that, go to Blender and import your rig. You can remove any existing textures on the rig unless you need them.

Then go to UV Editing and on the image window, open the Roblox clothing template or a similar template. Blender should look something like this: