Is it possible to put cancollide true for players legs and arms?

Hye, this is my first post, so I’m not so sure if it is the right category. Anyways, I’m making a game and I want the players to stack so they can make like a “human” tower. I saw some posts saying that the players arms and legs are cancollide false, and I’ve tried making a tower with four players and is pretty difficult to stack, since the arms are cancollide false.
I don’t know if its going to need a script or just a change on the settings, but my question is, is there a way to set players arms to cancollide true? I’m pretty new to scripting, so give me a not too complicated answer if possible.

5 Likes

This should, be in the #development-support:scripting-support

1 Like

I’m not sure if there will be any problems with physics by doing this, but a simple thing you can do is modify the arms in join.

Connect a callback to the players.PlayerAdded event.

This should receive the player as an argument.

So, now we can connect an event to the character added function to the player. So, well end up with something like this:

game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(plr)
    plr.CharacterAdded:Connect(function(char)
        — We’ll add more here later
    end)
end)

Now, you can cycle through the parts which make up the arms.

This is where I need some more info. Is your game set to use the R6 or R15 style rig?

2 Likes

I’m going to try this out when I’m on my laptop. My game is going to be on R6.

1 Like

If it’s R6 this makes things a lot easier.

You need to simply set:

char.LeftArm.CanCollide = true

And

char.RightArm.CanCollide = true
3 Likes

The names of the arms of R6 have spaces, so char["Left Arm"] instead of char.LeftArm.

5 Likes

It is possible to do this, unfortunately it isn’t as easy as setting it initially and then being done with it. It requires being constantly updated bound to RunService.Stepped as this is fired just after humanoid changes and just before physics calculations.