Is learning LUA worth it?

So I recently tried and learn how to script since scripting has always been something I wanted to learn. I also recently gained a decent level at building so I wanted to try something new. What I wanted to ask is if learning LUA will be worth it in the long run. For example, if I started learning how to script today and I get to a good level in two years, will ROBLOX still be a profitable platform? Could LUA possibly help in future career options?

11 Likes

If you plan on becoming a game developer for companies (or a standalone dev), I’d suggest learning LUA or some other programming language.

Anything can happen in two years time, but I still believe ROBLOX will be around and will still maintain the same profitable value as a developer, be it mainstream or non-mainstream.

LUA itself being very useful can be a bit iffy. Many programs don’t use LUA (though some do, don’t get me wrong on that) and use languages such as C++ or JavaScript, depending on what kind of application you’re using. However, one language can encourage you to learn more languages.

5 Likes

Almost. There have been games that is non-Roblox that used Lua. Don’t Starve Together is one that uses Lua(tested by using getfenv() and print in console).

5 Likes

Even if Roblox isn’t still successful in two years, which it probably will be, the skills you pick up by programming until then will help a lot with moving somewhere else. Lua itself isn’t a very popular language, but learning any programming language would make it easier to learn others. Since you’d already know a lot of the concepts, it would mainly be syntax you have to learn.

4 Likes

Well, let’s make this the first thing that you learn: the name of the language is not an acronym, and thus should be typed Lua. :stuck_out_tongue: Pronounced LOO-ah, it’s the Portuguese word for “moon” - pretty fun stuff!