Is my thumbnail ugly to you?

I think it’s ugly. Would you play a game with such a thumbnail?

I’ve spent the last hour in Blender trying to make a better one to no avail…

1 Like

I’m not a GFX artist, but I recommend you something, if you are going to export a character to use them in blender, export them with R6 Rig.

Yeah compared to other thumbnails you see on the front page, it is ugly. I’ll critique it and see what can be improved on:

The black bars at the top and bottom are pointless and just make the thumbnail worse. You don’t see black bars in thumbnails, and when you do, it’s plain black (no texture, no lighting) and it’s for a very specific purpose (e.g. part of the style of the media). Of course that doesn’t mean you can’t innovate, but it doesn’t look you’re innovating here and you’re putting them in ‘just because’. If you’re compensating for issues with the rendered image, then you should be fixing the rendered image.

The lens flare kinda sucks. As a beginner it’s usually a bad idea to focus on stuff like that, instead you’d want to focus on making the image itself look good. If you need a lens flare effect, just do a simple radial gradient for now. Also make sure that, whatever your effects are, they are big enough. Part of the problem with your lens flare in that thumbnail is that it is too small – scale it up. Additionally, the lens flare just doesn’t suit where it is being used. It looks you are trying to make it look like the knife is reflecting something, but whatever it is reflecting is awfully bright and there are no other signs of a bright light source in the image.

The characters are okay. They seem kinda plain and generic-feeling, but that might just be me. The lighting is plain, too.