Issue w/ 3rd Person Arms

I’ve been using this module of mine for many months, but after the end of july/beginning of august, without any edits by me, it had started acting up. I’ve been using cosine law on the shoulder motor to get the rotation, then applying a rotation with a look point to the elbow joint, pointing towards the target point. Gun itself with both target points on it is offsetted from the head. For testing purposes I have not yet adjusted the offset based on the gun’s length.

This behavior only happens on one of two conditions:

-Hip firing before using Aim Down Sights, which is strange given I’m using the same offset before as I am after, and it works fine after. Happens no matter the gun size.

-Sprinting with a pistol, both target points are near each other on the gun but this does not happen in any other case with pistols, exception being the first condition.

I’ve looked through my code and nothing else seems to be interfering with it. I’ve asked multiple scripters before making this post and they had said there was nothing visibly wrong with my code. Tweaking the side lengths have had no effect either, nor did ‘nuking’ the Z component of the shoulder C0. The only thing I can possibly think of doing now is to manually cframe the arms themselves, which could potentially cause a lot of issues and prevent me from applying animations to the fingers.

If it helps any, the character models are set up like R15.

MODULE: https://pastebin.com/zWsxupPf

Examples (2nd has a hinge on the front face for reference)

Edit: This is cosine law for those who are wondering: R15 IK Foot Placement

4 Likes

I put together another version using the cosine example I provided above [ made by @WhoBloxedWho ] yet it still produced the same issue.

https://pastebin.com/KrNan8Lx

I’m pretty lost right now and it’s holding up a demo release.