I've never used tweening, but I think I will

Yes, you read the title right… I have been scripting on roblox for 2 years (I only got serious about it about a year ago) and have never used the tween service, not even once. I just saw a video though, by devking, and now I want all my UIs to fade in like that. It looks so amazing.

Now, here is my problem. I have 0 clue how to do this. When I want a UI to come up smoothly, how do I do that? Do I position the UI out of the players view, and when they click a button I tween it in? Or do I position the UI out of the view, and disable it, and when they click a button it sets the visible property to true and then tweens it into view??

Sorry if I was able to turn such a simple thing into a long post, but like I said have have NEVER used the tween service, and I still dont fully understand it

Tweens are simple: Set an Instance, their tweening information, and the target. We’ll get to that later.

Say we have a Frame which the user does not see, as Visible = false and Transparency = 1. How would we make it visible smoothly?

Hint: Not this way.
while Frame.Transparency ~= 0 do
    Frame.Transparency -= 0.01
    wait(0.01)
end

-- or this way
Frame.Transparency = 0.99
wait(0.01)
Frame.Transparency = 0.98
wait(0.01)

First of all, we want to include a Tween Information. As stated before, it lets the tween know how to tween the property to the target, essentially its behaviour. Note that after creation, you cannot modify it. You can store TweenInfos in a variable:

local Info = TweenInfo.new()

The .new() constructor takes these parameters:

• Time {number}: The time it takes to play the tween.
  • EasingStyle {Enum}: How the tween is played. Example: Linear will tween the property continuously in a straight line, and Exponential will start quickly, and ending slowly.
  • EasingDirection {Enum}: The direction to play EasingStyle.
  • RepeatCount {number}: How many times to replay the tween after playing it once.