Jumping animation not working

hi, i am a beginner roblox developer, and i am trying to make a custom jumping animation for my game. however, it…just…doesnt…play? ive tried everything, ive restarted roblox studio, shifted the code around the script, used a more advanced developers script, anything you can think of, yet, nothing works. in fact, i have a running animation script thats almost completely the same, yet it works just fine! i am completely lost. i stayed up until 3 am trying to fix this problem last night and i still cant even figure out how or why it even happens. sorry if this is a bad post, this is my first post

script:

local player = game.Players.LocalPlayer
local character = player.Character
local humanoid = character:WaitForChild("Humanoid")

local jumpingAnimationId = "rbxassetid://14212683004"
local jumping animation = Instance.new("Animation")
jumpingAnimation.AnimationId = jumpingAnimationId
local play2 = humanoid.Animator:LoadAnimation(jumpingAnimation)

humanoid.Jumping:Connect(function(jumping)
         if true then
            play2:Play()
            if jumping == false then
                play2:Stop()
            end
         end
end)

there are no output errors

When in doubt, check that sweet sweet Priority, baby!

Its just standard procedure, like a tech guru telling the user to turn it on and off again.

So, if you wouldn’t mind, could you tell me what the Animation’s priority is at? To find out the priority, simply start editing the animation, and click the 3 dots in the Animation Editor, go to Set Animation Priority, and absolutely make sure that the animation is set to Movement since you’re trying to modify the player’s default movement animations

1 Like