Learning Roblox LUA

I am just starting to learn the LUA programming language this year, and I have a few questions.

What is the most efficient way of learning?

• Youtube Tutorials
  • Asking the devfourm
  • Learn by just scripting
  • Anyother way

Please let me know which one is the best.
Another question.

How long does it take to learn LUA on average?

4 Likes

I’d say the most efficient way to learn to code is through help forums and looking at the API itself, either through the lua page or the devwiki. Alternatively, you can go to the luau site. All of these sources have good examples, are pretty easy to understand and don’t spend 20 minutes rambling, like most youtubers do.

3 Likes

Going to give my two cents on how I learned just for variety in responses under this post.

I originally started by watching Peaspod’s tutorials on YouTube forever ago. He covers the basics in his tutorials although I’m not sure if that series holds as much value to this day since things have changed. After leaping over your first hill and understanding the basics, try posting on the DevForum as you’ve mentioned not only asking for answers to your problems, but understand why that solution worked.

Imo, I wouldn’t just jump into the wiki with minimal knowledge of Luau. Learn the terminology before trying to understand the material. Parameters, functions, events, variables, callbacks, arrays, dictionaries, libraries, connections, etc. just to name some of the more common ones.

TL;DR:

• Try learning from YouTube (AlvinBlox for example)
  • Post any questions you have on the DevForum under this category (Help and Feedback → Scripting Support)
  • Understand why the solution given to you works
  • Search the wiki for what you’re trying to use (Services and their functions/events, properties of objects, etc.)
3 Likes