Learning Scripting

Hi everyone,

Today I wanted to ask you guys how all of you learnt how to script, also how long it took you and things you would suggest that would help me learn quicker, my goal is to be advanced within 3 months, I don’t know if this is possible or not but it’s go big or go home. I am a very good builder but want to take my game development to the next level. I would say I have a basic knowledge of scripting.

I would really appreciate anyone who responds and gives me tips.

6 Likes

Hello! It took me the first month for me to make an actual simple obby game.

My first tip to progress faster is to learn the basics of programming. This includes variables, OOP (Object Oriented Programming), debugging, and there’s more. This would help you in a long way and make you learn other things easier.

My second tip is-this may be obvious- don’t be afraid to ask questions or for help! Obviously, you won’t know everything but, there’s people who could help you learn and even reinforce your programming skills, we won’t bite.

Third tip is take a break when you need it, mental breaks are important because they could help you rest, and if you don’t take a break, you might lose motivation/burnout to progress further or restrict yourself.

Fifth tip is to keep notes on what you learned! In case if you do forget what to do then your notes will come and refresh your mind. Although, I never did this but, I know people who had so why not include it.

Sixth tip is don’t be sad if you don’t make it big for your first couple of games, I’ve seen people be demotivated because they don’t make it big, this causes them to not learn programming further. I know because this happened to me but I pushed further.

If other people have more tips then please add on or if you think some these tips aren’t useful then please tell me!

5 Likes