Ledge/Climbing system

Hello everyone,

I am interested in creating a ledge climbing system similar to Assassins Creed and/or Hitman series. The player can jump onto ledges and then from the ledge can only jump to another ledge if one is found. Is multiple ledges are found, the player must combine a+spacebar to jump towards the ledge closest to the left, and vice versa for the right. I have drawn a rough sketch to try express what I am talking about

I know I will need to use raycasting and runservice for this but I have little experience with using both services and wondering how I should go about doing this. Code examples would be appreciated, I tend to learn better being shown than being lectured.

Thank you

Raycasting Documentation

I’d also go about it by creating some kind of movement loop (while wait() do or something) for the client, and when the user inputs a+jump, the script checks to see if there is a second ledge (and if there is), a certain animation plays and the player’s rig follows a certain path while the animation plays.

There’s not really another way for me to put this: this is an ambitious project. Make sure you know what you’re doing in terms of programming. This won’t be the main hurdle in this project you are taking on.

2 Likes

This is the general structure of the script. Do you think this might work? I know its in a local script and preferably I would like to play anims and stuff on the server so other players can see the user jumping to and from ledges.

Local script:

• Checks for ledges on heartbeat
  • If ledge found AND player userinputservice keycode == jump+a then
  • Play jump left animation and move move character to the ledge (what can i use to make the character actually jump to the ledge and follow a path?)
  • Elseif no ledge was found then strafe character to the left
  • same thing for jump+a, jump+s, and jump+w

Anything I am missing?

1 Like