Legal-ease: A beginners guide to contracts

Or as I like to call it;
“How to protect your wallets from EVIL”

To begin our adventure into the world of law, I must make a legal disclaimer, I am not a lawyer. I am, however, A former professional and freelance graphic designer and I’ve had to write out more than a few contracts in my life.

Contracts are everywhere!

What is a Contract?

A legally binding agreement between two parties, of which you’ve already agreed to at least two! Roblox’s TOS and Privacy/Cookie Policy are both Contracts that you’ve agreed to, otherwise you wouldn’t be able to see anything I’m showing you right now!

Why do I need a contract?

Any time you’re working with another developer, a contract can help protect both parties involved

Lets lay out some basic terminology:

Party - think of a contract as groups of people sitting at a table, each side of the table is a “party”, and each party represents one set of interests.

In this example we have 2 parties;
Group 1 - Wants to have an office built
Group 2 - Wants to build an office

Unqualified Acceptance - Yes. No ifs, ands, or buts, an unqualified acceptance MUST be a yes without any terms attached.

Contracts have a few requirements to lay out first;

• Consideration
    Each Party has to promise or provide something of value to the other; Otherwise you there is no contract.

• Offer and Acceptance
    There must be a clear offer in the contract, and an “unqualified acceptance” - this is a “Yes”, Without the “If you…” The terms of the contract should outline the “if you”. Any additional terms added to a contract first, void the original contract, and bring us back to our unqualified acceptance, after the contract is edited.

• Legal Purpose
    A contract cannot violate the law, you cannot legally organize a contract to rob a bank for instance.

• Capable Parties