Legal Lesson - How International Contracts are Enforced

Hello again!

Since I got quite a few questions from my last post, which was made in relation to general information about what contracts are and how they work for Roblox developers, I decided I wanted to discuss an equally as ill-informed area of the legal aspect behind hiring developers - international contracts.

The Problem

For so many developers on this humongous platform, almost all of us have run into one common problem, and that problem is:

1. entering into a contract with your developer/s (or your employer/s);
  2. the other party not honouring their end of the bargain; and
  3. you coming to the realization that there was nothing you could do about it but perhaps create awareness for the problem on social media.

I’ve been a 3D animator on Roblox, offering my commissions for years, and time and time again I have unfortunately found myself getting scammed or ripped off by deceitful or lazy developers and employers. Before studying law, I had no clue what to do to get the money I was owed from deceptive clients, and that’s primarily because they’ve always been in other countries.

It really is a shame that there are so many people who think they can get away with scamming hard working developers of their hard-earned money, so today I intend to tell you all that there is one huge problem with their schemes. The escapades of these people generally rely on 2 very big assumptions:

1. People assume that if a developer is under 18 years of age, then they cannot be bound to a legal agreement - THIS IS FALSE
  2. People assume that if someone they enter into an agreement with is in another country, then they won’t be able to force each-other to hold up their respective ends of the agreement - THIS IS ALSO FALSE