Looking for help with a terrain generator script!

Hello everyone,

Just wondering how i would go about creating a terrain generator type script. Looking for something that is lightweight. It’ll render “Blocks” which will also need to create hills, mountains, etc. This is something which im looking to learn to do.

I have no experience with terrain generator and need some help finding resources/tutorials that will help with this. I’m not familiar with any other programming code.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Maybe this is what you’re looking for: Minimap Creator [RoRender]

This is for a minimap, looking for a terrain generator i suppose it would be called :smiley: might have named it wrong in the thread…

1 Like

There’s a really useful tutorial on the wiki, which shows you how to generate terrain.

With that, I would also suggest using height maps which will help you create maps with hills, mountains and cool looking terrain.

Problem is that im not looking to make roblox terrain and more of a minecraft style block terrain :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Aha, I personally do not have too much experience with that BUT… TheGamer101 has a blog post about something like this.

https://blog.roblox.com/2013/06/developers-journal-random-map-generation-with-thegamer101/

If you’d like to generate this using code instead of a height map you’re probably looking for math.noise. Math.noise (perlin noise) is how a lot of games generate hills and stuff.

2 Likes

Mate, if it weren’t a terrain generator thread why did you post this?

@Vanimion Because he is looking for a terrain generator…? I don’t understand what you’re trying to say here.

In either case, the only thing I know about any kind of terrain generation are two terms being flung around: “perlin noise” and “procedural generation”. I have no clue what any of that means. Perhaps searching around on the DevForum may yield something useful.