Luau mixed value types in table

1. What do you want to achieve?
    I want to know how to use mixed types of data as values, specifically, with a table that follows the structure of {Type1,…} where Type1 is an already defined type, and … is a list of parameters used to interface with that type

2. What is the issue?
    Luau seems to think that everything else in the table must be the first value type (HistoryActionContext):

3. What solutions have you tried so far?
    I’ve tried all options here to define that table in a way that could allow mixed value types:

Incase it helps, here’s what those other tables look like:

export type HistoryActionContext = {
	Name: string,
	UndoFunction: any, -- Function
	RedoContext: HistoryActionContext,
}
local UndoContext : {[string] : HistoryActionContext} = {}
local ActiveUndoState : HistoryAction = {}

I’ve also tried to look through the documentation? for Luau to try and understand more what I’m supposed to do here. I’m really new to Luau typing, and I’m primarily trying to write code that’s compliant so that other devs on the team I work for can have it turned on.

Would it be possible for you to use a dictionary that leads into a table value?

e.g.

ActiveUndoState[UndoContext.Paint] = {}
table.insert(ActiveUndoState[UndoContext.Paint], CurrentUID)
1 Like

No, it’s a list because it will have potentially tens of thousands of actions in it (all with the same first index). I could make the table itself a dictionary, but that feels like it would be wasting a lot of RAM/processing, in a project that is already going to need micro-optimization, and will be pushing limits in other areas of the code.

You don’t appear to have a way to index HistoryActionContext in your table. You can add it as such

type HistoryAction = {
    context: HistoryActionContext?, -- Type1 in your example
    [number]: any                   -- ... in your example
}

Alternatively because I’m not 100% sure on your question

type HistoryAction = {