Machine Learning in Roblox with Tensorflow and webservers

Introduction

Machine learning can be an overwhelming topic especially on a platform such as roblox.
This tutorial will guide you though how to set up a web server and use it to predict the mood from player messages. Something similar to a webapp I made a while ago here.

A little about me, I’ve been a roblox developer for around 6-7 years now and have multiple years of experience in the machine learning field and web development.

Examples
Shown here the player sends the message “This is so very sad” which then the machine learning model predicts to be a sad message.

Shown here the player sends the message “Today is a great day.” which then the machine learning model predicts to be a happy message.

Shown here the player sends the message “This makes me frustrated.” which then the machine learning model predicts to be an angry message.

This video shows the model working in real time. If for any reason the video is not loading, the video is also hosted on youtube.

Prerequires

This tutorial may appear overwhelming at first and is targeted at more advanced scripters but I tried as best as possible to write it in a way that a beginner would understand.

This tutorial assumes that you have either, found a preexisting model available either via api or as a file, or made an tensorflow machine learning model yourself and want to add it to roblox. This course will not teach you how to make a machine learning model.

Several apis can be found simply by searching the phrase ‘ai api’ or similar on a search engine. However some apis might require extra data or an api key.
If you want to use the same model as I’m using on the tutorial then feel free to download the necessary files on Github, you would need the v1-js folder and the v1_tokens.json file. If you plan on using this in a game, make sure you credit me for the model.