Make part rotate away from Player

I’ve always wondered what type of CFrame magic or Rotation Math is required to achieve this sort of effect. I’ve been looking through many pages of the Devforum but I can’t exactly get an answer for this.

I basically want to figure out how to possibly make a part rotate AWAY from the angle the player hits it. Here’s an example shown below of what I’m trying to achieve

Video Link

Other Video Uploaded To Youtube:

1 Like

really interesting by any chance have you found out?

1 Like

Thats pretty easy, just give the part some offset whenever the player is close.

I’ve never done this before, but part of what you would need to do involves producing a special cframe to perform this rotation. And it would be based on the players position and the other object’s (plant’s) position. Assuming the position is also the point at which it rotates (the bottom of the plant).

First off, you might need to derive a vector that points from the player to the plant, or vice versa (plant to player)

local directionToPlant = (playerPos - plantPos).Unit

Then, you can produce a new CFrame that points in this direction, with the assumption that “up is up”.

local playerToPlantCFrame = CFrame.lookAt(Vector3.zero,directionToPlant,Vector3.yAxis)

This will produce a CFrame that points from the player to the plant, and it’s “up vector” should be pointing straight up (just like the player). Crucially, it will also make the “right vector” point in the direction that would be the axis of rotation that you would want for the plant.
In other words, the axis of rotation the plant should rotate on to either rotate “away” or “towards” the player. It’s the vector that points perpendicular to the line between you and the plant, but not pointing up.

Honestly, you probably could do this without this particular CFrame :stuck_out_tongue:
Because that is what the cross product is for.