Make the Games search better and the search term autocorrect more intelligent

Improve the Games search function (or at least provide more transparency as to how it works)

Hey everyone!

I’m a game developer on the platform & I recently released a game titled GUESTY. The game has been out for almost 3 weeks now & has hit the front page of Popular a few times within that span of time (with the help of content updates, advertisements, and content creators).

The issue I’m having is that when anyone tries to look up Guesty, it autocorrects to guest and the actual game doesn’t even show up on the front page; but not only that, it shows completely irrelevant games to the term “guest.”

As you can see in this screenshot, aside from the game Guest World, 3 of the top 4 games in this sort are completely unrelated to the term “guest”; let alone the game I was actually looking for. There’s a little option in the top left that says, “Search instead for guesty” but I have an issue with that for a couple reasons:

• It’s hard to see and easy to miss. A quick glance at a page with rows and rows of unique game icons makes it easy to overlook the tiny correction in the top left.
  • At a certain point, a game that has had a decent amount of players for a while should be able to be searched up without autocorrecting to a different term.

I’m sure it’s not exclusive to this case. There are probably lots of games that have this issue, and the problem rises where people have heard of a game but can’t even find what they’re looking for. From the perspective of a game developer and from the perspective of a game player, it’s important that players are able to have quick & easy access to the game they’re looking for.