Making Meshes Swappable for a Sword Tool

Hey there, I’m kinda stumped and need a little guidance or would possibly hire for help if you are willing.

I’m trying to make different tools for different sword fighting styles but allow the players to choose what swords they want to use with the different fighting styles.

The problem I’m having though, for example, I have just the BASIC sword tool and when I try to swap in a different mesh, the new mesh is nowhere near being in the correct position, as you can see in the attachment. Screen Shot 2021-08-11 at 6.00.33 PM|690x395

I have tried messing around with the GripForward, GripPos, GripRight, and GripUp values for an hour or so and cannot get the freakin’ thing to line up. And I have to do this for like 10 different swords :sweat_smile:

Any tips would be appreciated. I am a pretty experienced Roblox developer, but tools have never been a strong point of mine. I have a developer team that I’m working with to create a very cool horror/strategy game with a pretty in depth story, but don’t currently have anyone anywhere close to my level of programming that can help me with tools. If you would like to find out more about what I’m developing or would like to become a part of the team, let me know. Thanks!

2 Likes

Consider using this plugin.

1 Like

Thank you! I will try it out! Clonetrooper’s stuff has always been great.

1 Like

So, I thought I made a bunch of progress with the plugin you suggested. Everything seemed to be going smoothly. I made a module script containing tables of all the different grip positions that the sword script could access and position the grip positions according to the selected mesh.

Module script:

local Holder = {};

Holder.ClassicSword = {{0,0,-1.5},{-1,0,0},{0,1,0},{0,0,1},{0,0,1},{0,-1,0},{-1,0,0}};
Holder.ClassicLaser = {{0,-1.7,0},{0,0,-1},{1,0,0},{0,1,0},{0,1,0},{1,0,0},{0,0,1}};
Holder.ClassicEnergy = {{0,-1.7,0},{0,0,-1},{1,0,0},{0,1,0},{0,1,0},{1,0,0},{0,0,1}};