Meshpart Appearing Hollow! [Resolved!]

Okay, so I’ve never really had any issues with importing meshes into ROBLOX. However, recently, whenever I’ve uploaded meshparts - I keep having this issue in which it appears “hollow” from ALL angles, seen in the images below:
https://gyazo.com/2021e93c6ccefcf5619fdfc2c0f7f9df
(Attempt at creating a scythe handle, however, it appears hollow! In Blender, it appears normal.)

There’s also this, in which is a WIP of a gun I was making.

I’ve tried using different methods of importing meshes into ROBLOX, such as special meshes, and I have attempted to shrink down sizes of the models in blender. I’m new to 3D modelling in Blender, and this issue certainly is strange, as I’ve never encountered this issue with my previous Blender models.

If someone could answer this, thank you so much! I’ve been searching for an answer everywhere. :smiley:

11 Likes

The face normals are probably inverted.

If you’re using Blender, you can use the Recalculate Normals button to fix it.

15 Likes

A little off topic but just saying but all that internal geometry for a gun made in blender shouldn’t be there - it adds on unnecessary tris to your model and makes it less clean overall.

3 Likes

Ctrl + N in edit mode after selecting faces individually to flip normals to face the opposite direction, or Recalculate Normals will do the trick here.

2 Likes

Thank you so much!

What is said above is correct: your normals are inverted. In blender, inverted faces generally are darker. This is fixed by selecting all and doing CTRL + N

If you open up the side panel in edit mode, and scroll down, you can display the direction of normals via blue tick marks like the following:

https://i.gyazo.com/cb4d20f936a1622d1798c0cf81bd9755.mp4

Furthermore, if it is important to note that a mesh face is view-able from only one side, this is why when the face is inverted you see the model as inside out. Which side is view-able is determined by the normal.