MessagingService for matchmaking limitations?

I have quickly coded a module to allow cross-server group creation for players in every server to join, and then to initialise private servers for that group. Currently I have a “master server” which does all the leg work, with other servers posting data to it for join/leave/start requests and adding/removing servers when servers are created/destroyed.

However, I have just noticed the wiki page on the MessagingService notes that the limit for ‘Messages per game server per minute’ is 100 + 50 * connected game server(s). With 2 servers that’s only 200 requests/min… and so, I’m very concerned about scalability.

1. Does anyone have any experience in using this service for matchmaking, and if so, have they had to account for the limitations and throttle the requests, or has it been successful thus far without many issues?

2. There doesn’t seem to be a method to determine the request budget for the MessagingService. Any work arounds? I’m doubtful there is, but I may as well ask.

Sadly this isn’t something I can really test due to MessagingService being limited in Studio, so any information is greatly appreciated.

2 Likes

Maybe instead of using your current system, you could send a dictionary of data every few minutes?

I think my only issue with this method is that there would be a significant delay between [event] -> [result], which would likely be incredibly frustrating for the end-user(s).

Also, sadly, since there’s a request limit I imagine there’s also a limit on the amount of data you can send per request.

Any further thoughts on this would be appreciated :slight_smile:

The information provided on the developer hub says nothing about limitations of data sent per request, so I don’t think that will be an issue.

Regarding your concerns with limitations on requests sent, I don’t think it’s a major issue unless you plan on sending a large amount of requests every minute.