Methods for Wireframe Landscape?

I am trying to figure out how I would make a landscape (whether it be mesh or not) that look like the vaporwave/synthwave landscapes with the wire frame look, are there any ways you guys think I could do it?

3 Likes

You can watch the beginning of this video on how to model it in Blender:

If you follow these tips closely, you can export it into studio when you are finished.

5 Likes

Im actually a 3D Artist so I’ve messed around with it in blender already but the wireframe node is a shader, so its not saved on the texture, and even if I pre-bake the texture it doesn’t end up coming out right. Thats initially why I created the thread, sorry for not clarifying in the original post, thank you though :slight_smile:

1 Like

This is probably the most basic thing you could do but you could use wedges/triangle parts and later union them (or overall just make a mesh) to your leisure and afterwards. Setting the transparency to 0 and adding a texture onto it. I would also recommend to mimic a neon color by going beyond the usual 255 values. I will make an edit when I am able to show an example.

Edit: Whipped this up real quick, not the best example but it is something.

3 Likes

Build it from many parts in studio, then make a script to give every part a “SelectionBox” and set the adornee to the part, it may be less convenient for the lag on lower-end computers. but probably the easier route.

(Or you could take the long way and parent the selection box yourself, but that is unneeded work.)

1 Like

I would just suggest running the code in the command bar :3

1 Like

You could try making a terrain with parts, cloning it, giving the clone a glow material and a blue-ish colour or whatever you’d like (maybe offset it vertically by 0.01?), make a grid with negate parts, apply the negate parts to the terrain that’s not glowing, and maybe that’d work?
Although, it’s likely to crash, and it’s very bad for the frames