Models are see through when adding auto smooth

The Building Support sub-category is intended for all development support relating to architecture on the Roblox platform. This includes questions ranging in difficulty from extremely basic to even the most technical of issues.

You may present your thread how you choose, but you are required to answer the following questions in your thread;

• What are you attempting to achieve? (Keep it simple and clear) I am trying to make my model look smoother instead of flatter.
  • Hi there I am a roblox modeler and it is a bit challenging for me to make assets when I add smooth shading to them and they are see through, here is a piece of land I made and also it has smooth shading and auto smooth on it but when I import it to roblox it comes out as see through and glitched, this has happened with many of the assets I have made. image
  • What solutions have you tried so far? I have tried making it double sided but still it looks weird. I have also made all the meshes faces on correctly but still I am having the same issue. (Btw I have searched on google and the roblox wiki but no one seems to have the same problem as me)

You may then include any further details. This hasnt happpened to me ever till now for some reason when I lower down the smooth shading to make it more flat to the point you can see the polygons it doesnt have the problem. I really love the style I am going for and I dont want to make it flat.

3 Likes

I was going to suggest checking to see which way your ‘faces’ are pointing, but you mention you’ve already done that. I know Blender has a couple options to show the direction the faces are rendered.

Do you have all your edges combined, or are they separate for each face? If you have 2 separate edges between two vertices, one for each face, then they may be rendered strangely.

this has happened to me before, and i’m not sure why it did, but it could be because overlapping faces