More documentation is needed on limitations of the Ban API

As a Roblox developer, I would like to see documentation on the limitations applied to the newly released banning API. Mainly, I would like more documentation on the following:

What users cannot be banned?
I know for a fact that UserId 1 can not be banned, but I have no clue why. I would love if there could be further documentation on which users can not be banned and why.

What occurs when a banned user attempts to join?
Do any signals get fired that could identify this case? What happens if they attempt to teleport to the place? Do they get a teleport failure or simply get kicked out entirely?

Are ban private-reasons filtered?
It is stated that, at the minimum, public ban messages are filtered, but it is never clarified if it also applies to private ban reasons, too.

What occurs if a user gets banned while in-experience?
Both when a player is in the current server and a different server. Is this reliable?

Is there any way to determine if a player is banned?
This specifically relates to alt-account detection. Does the OpenCloud API for checking UserRestriction status factor this in? Do the lua APIs factor this in?

It would also be convenient to have the FAQ on the DevForum announcement also mentioned somewhere on the documentation site

2 Likes

maybe cuz thats the official roblox account lol

i dont believe any remotes get fired. the user is just simply banned on the server backend

i believe its when the user tries rejoining the game they will be banned (i could be wrong)

I do agree this is a very poorly and half-made API that needs more work on.

1 Like

The player is banned… They get kicked out of the game and are shown the displayReason.

This one was answered in the exact devforum post you linked to…