Music system / random song picker code problem?

Hey,
I’m working on a music system with a mute button and a random sound picker. My problem is that I have to click the mute button once to play a song. This song is always the same, but I want to pick a random sound from “SoundService”. What do I have to change? I’m thankful for every answer. I’m not that good at scripting so I couldn’t solve the problem myself.

I hope someone finds the issue.

– IchbinFelix

1 Like

Try this:

local Sounds = game:GetService("SoundService"):GetChildren() -- Fetch list (table) of sounds
local RandomSound = Sounds[math.random(1, #Sounds)] -- Get random sound

Also I’d recommend posting the actual code here, embedded in ``` marks.

I only gave the code to find a random sound object.

You’re better of using folders to make your hierarchy neater. You should also try making a table with different sound IDs. For example:

local Sounds = {
}

Quick notes

Your indexing is wrong and by typing game.SoundService.Sound.Playing = true, you’re only playing the first Sound object in SoundService. Instead, play the random sound variable.

3 Likes

Thank you for your help, but I don’t know what scripts I have to use “Local or Normal” and where should I put them. Into the Folder at “Sound Service”?

– IchbinFelix

It depends on how you want the sound to work. If you want there to be a random sound for each player, you should use a localscript. If you want to do the sound logic once and it be the same for every player, use a regular script.

If the script is local, the random sound will be different for each player.

If it is a regular script, it will be random but the same for each player.

The code suggested requires that the sounds are placed in SoundService, without any folders. However, if you want to put them in a folder, as suggested rightly, you need to modify the first line.

For example, if you put them in a folder called “Music”, the line should read: