Need help creating complex mesh in Blender

So I have the basic mesh so far, it’s just a one-sided disc plane in an array of around 200 count.

Something like this
Now here’s the kicker. I need it to be in an oval shape, like this, but obviously sliced up very thinly.

So just like a combination of the two. How do I do that? I am still very new to Blender.

1 Like

Something like this?

There are many ways to do this, here are some:

You could use the oval shape and just use a boolean modifier to create slits.

OR

You can use an array modifier to first set up some disks and then use propotional editing to scale them into an oval like I did in the above video.

1 Like

The second way is the way to go because the first one is basically the opposite of what I need, but I have having trouble following along, already at the part where you make the discs smaller. 0:15.

Okay so here is a step by step guide:

• Step 1: Insert a circle object, and then tab into edit mode and fill it’s inside with faces.
  • Step 2: Rotate the circle on the X-Axis by 90 degrees.
  • Step 3: Add an array modifier to that disk and change it’s offset to how you want and count to whatever you desire.
  • Step 4: Apply the array modifier. And then tab into edit mode and press P → By Loose Parts. (This will seperate all your objects so that you can scale them.)
  • Step 5: Set your Transform Pivot Point to Individual Origins (This is usually located on the top of your viewport, here is how it looks and should be:
  • Step 6: Select all the objects and hit S then Shift + Y and type 0.1 on your keyboard.
  • Step 7: Select the center most disk, press O to enable propotional editing and then select your easing style in the top, something like this:
  • Step 8: After enabling propotional editing and selecting your center-most disk, press S and then Shift + Y and scale it till you are happy with your ovals.