Need help getting this coroutine-based hit stun system to work

Hello, people of the devforum. I’m new to coroutines. This is my first script that I’ve attempted to use them in and I think I’m doing something wrong because my script doesn’t work properly, but there are no errors in the output.

Basically, I’m trying to revamp my old hitstun system with one that’s less buggy, because the old one would let random split-seconds of nostun slip through in the middle of a combo, which would result in unintuitive LMB-spam type fighting which I really didn’t like.

You can see in this video that after I hit the NPC, he gets stuck walking slowly and unable to attack me. This must mean that somewhere in my script something went wrong resuming his normal unstunned state, but I’m not sure what.

Here’s my code:

--// Variables
local char = script.Parent
local hum = char.Humanoid
local event = char.Hitstun
local stunval = char.Stunned
local anims = char.dmganims

--// Controls
local Time = 0
local doTick

--// Functions
function startStun()
	stunval.Value = true
	hum.WalkSpeed = 8
	local stunanim = hum:LoadAnimation(anims["Damaged".. math.random(1,4)])
	stunanim:Play()
end

function stopStun()
	hum.WalkSpeed = 16
	stunval.Value = false
	doTick = false
end

--// Coroutine Functions
local timeTick = function()
	repeat
		if Time < .1 then 
			stopStun()
		else
			Time -= .1
		end
		task.wait(.1)
	until doTick == false
end

local eventFired = function()
	local tickthread = coroutine.wrap(timeTick)
	Time = 1
	doTick = true
	startStun()
end

event.Event:Connect(coroutine.wrap(eventFired))

The goal here is to stun the NPC, making him slower and unable to attack for one second after he’s received a hit from any source. Each time the Hitstun event gets fired, that means he’s been hit by a source so I want the one second timer to restart when that happens.