Need help making Corn pickup serverside

I want to say upfront that I have very little experience working with any kind of script. The code I have has come from me watching videos and throwing everything at the script until something works. I am working to learn how to create code but I am not an expert at it. On to the problem.

I have a corn maze game where 7 pieces of corn spawn at random locations.

I am looking to have the corn when it is picked up to show on the scoreboard for all players to see. I THINK I need to put a “remote event” inside of Replicated Storage so that every time a player picks up a piece of corn it shows for all players. Right now I have the corn set up like this
image_2024-04-01_114039177

inside replicated storage is a folder labeled “items” in that folder is where the corn will spawn. Inside the Corn I have the pick up script that technically works, however when the player picks it up the score does not change and the corn or its particles are not destroyed.
this is the working script I cobbled together.

local corng = script.Parent
local canGet = true

corng.Touched:Connect(function(hit)
	local hum = hit.Parent:FindFirstChild("Humanoid")
	if hum and canGet then
		canGet = false
		corng.Transparency = 1
		local player = game.Players:GetPlayerFromCharacter(hit.Parent)
		player.leaderstats.Corn.Value += 1
		corng:Destroy()
	end
end)

Again, the player can pick up the corn. But it throws an error every time. I am not sure what “leaderstats” is even referencing here since I don’t think I need it since I am using my own GUI to show the amount of corn that has been collected?