Need some help on a Map Generation System!

Hey, I’m making a small horror game for fun, in which the concept is about doing a task to flee a small sewer map.
I have a few things ready for it, but the thing is I want to know how to make a Map Generation Algorithm with some models of the map prepared at ServerStorage. Pretty much the map doesn’t need to be big, instead it’ll be a medium sized map.
Since I am not really good at scripting, I’d like to know how to create a Script about this.
I’ll be hearing and trying every solution!

EDIT: I got home a while ago and I had no time to attach the picture of the models, but here they are. What should I do?

3 Likes

Do you want the map to be built with the modular parts that you have?

1 Like

Please give more info, as there are lot of ways to do what you want!

1 Like

Now that i think of it, a way to achieve the thing you want is having some “template rooms” grouped as models in ReplicatedStorage or ServerStorage (Doesn’t really matters as it will be replicated from a server script)

With your template rooms, you will need an “anchor part” to try anochoring it at an entry from a room. Something like this:

You can have a starter room, then you can start making rooms only to the left. Or left and right, or the four ways too.

The template rooms will need an anchor part, and the “group” of the template room will have it’s PrimaryPart set to the anchor part. You can add an invisible part to the template rooms that cover everything in the room, so you can check if a new room is overlaping another if the new room’s “Hitbox” is colliding with another room’s hitbox.

Hope this helps. If i have spare time, i will come back with an example roblox studio place.

I’ll be hearing and trying every solution!

Here is an example Place:

[PLEASE DONT USE THIS, AS THIS IS OUTDATED. I POSTED A NEW VERSION WITH NEW FEATURES BELOW IN A NEW POST]

[DONT USE THIS!!!]
Test Room Generator [OUTDATED V1].rbxl[/spoiler] (49.7 KB)