Need tips on starting with firing off projectile

So I started an almost rpg like game where you can have weapons, items, and skills(most of them are already made) but im mostly having problem with the skills part because I’m not very good with physics related scripting. So does anyone care to help me get started on projectile attacks like fireballs and stuff? I already figured out lookvector will be related to this but are there other things that I need to know?

You can either:

1.) Rely on the physics engine for projectiles and check collision with touched/region3

2.) Hardcode anchored projectiles and check collision with raycasts/region3

I don’t know which one would fit your application since I don’t know the specifics

If you want a projectile to be fired in the direction that a part is facing(lookVector) and don’t want to rely on BodyObjects, you could assign it a direction vector value, use .Heartbeat and every step tween the projectile’s position by 1/60th of its velocity multiplied by its direction. Then you could use :GetTouchingParts() to see when it collides with another object.

local tween = game:GetService("TweenService"):Create(OBJECT, TweenInfo.new(1/60), {CFrame = CFrame.new(OBJECT.Position + Vector3.new(OBJECT.VECTOR3VALUE.Value.X * VELOCITY/60, OBJECT.VECTOR3VALUE.Value.Y * VELOCITY/60, OBJECT.VECTOR3VALUE.Value.Z * VELOCITY/60))})
tween:Play()

Everything that you will need to change is capitalized. Everything else will work as expected if you leave it be. This is the method I use in Flight! for moving everything around and it works perfectly even with many projectiles.

Edit: This is just the logic for the movement itself, you should be able to work the rest out by yourself.

4 Likes

aaa don’t tween on the server! it’s really inefficient, you’d be better tweening it on the client.