Non-syntax error in my code.. any help?

I’m trying to make a leaderstat value go up when a function is called. The function that is being called can’t get the player, so there’s a function embedded in another function. I’m a bit new to scripting, and am wondering why this won’t work:

local count = script.Parent.Count

script.Parent.Touched:Connect(function(hit)
	if hit.Name == "SpecialPinkBall" or  hit.Name == "GodPinkBall" or hit.Name == "SmokingCharcoal" or hit.Name == "BigSmokingCharcoal" or hit.Name == "SmokingGodBall" or hit.Name == "FlamingPinkCrate" or hit.Name == "FlamingSparklesPinkCrate" or hit.Name == "GiantBlueCrate" or hit.Name == "GiantGlowingBlueCrate" or hit.Name == "GiantGodlyYellowShinyBall" or hit.Name == "GodlyYellowShinyBall" or hit.Name == "TheBadGodlyCrate" or hit.Name == "TheGoodGodlyCrate" or hit.Name == "Stinky" or hit.Name == "Bad" or hit.Name == "SparklingNeonGreenBall" or hit.Name == "GiantNeonGreenBall" or hit.Name == "BadBall" or hit.Name == "SmokingBadBall" or hit.Name == "WhiteFireBlueBall" or hit.Name == "GodlyBlueBall" or hit.Name == "GiantGodlyBlueBall" or hit.Name == "GoodGodlyBlueBall" or hit.Name == "AGodlyBall" or hit.Name == "GiantGodlyInsaneGodBall" then
		script.Parent.BrickColor = BrickColor.new("Really red")
		wait(.5)
		script.Parent.BrickColor = BrickColor.new("Lime green")
		print("Boy")

hit:Destroy()
		script.Parent.Success:Play()

count.Value = count.Value + 1
		game.Workspace.PackageScreen.Sign.SurfaceGui.SIGN.Text = "Completed Packages: " .. count.Value

game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(player)
		player.leaderstats.Packages.Value = player.leaderstats.Packages.Value + 1
		end)
	end
end)
3 Likes

Are you sure its being called?

2 Likes

It’s not being called. It’s in a serverscript

2 Likes

The event will only be fired when a player is added after it is set up.

2 Likes

I meant printed my bad so is it?

2 Likes

What do you think would be the optimal solution?

1 Like