Npc proximity prompt, sell items

Hi

I have a wood chopping system. Once the wood is chopped, it stacks up on leaderstats under the name of “Wood”.

Now I want to sell the wood to an npc through using a proximity prompt. How do I sell the wood leaderstat and gain 20 money from it?

1 Like

I have this at the moment:

local ProximityPrompt = script.Parent
-- Detect when prompt is triggered

ProximityPrompt.Triggered:Connect(function (plr)
	 plr.backpack.wood:destroy()
	then
		Money.Value = Money.Value + 20 
	end)

Please don’t judge, I’m rather new to scripting.

Try this:

ProximityPrompt.Triggered:Connect(function(Player)
     local Wood = Player.Backpack:FindFirstChild("wood") or Player.Character:FindFirstChild("wood") -- Detect whether it's in their backpack or equipped
	 if Wood then -- if it is equipped or it is in their backpack then
          Player.money.Value += 20
          Wood:Destroy()
     end
end)

Sorry, I kept pressing tab being used that it indents but instead it just posted the unfinished post Lol. Let me know if the code works.

1 Like

How I would do it is I would have a dictionary that contains the item name as the key and the value would be the amount of coins someone get if they are holding the item. When the proximity prompt is triggered I would then see if there is a tool inside of the player character who triggered the proximity prompt and if the tool name is inside of the dictionary as a key I would remove this tool from the character and increase a leaderstats (or however the currency system works).

This method would allow you to add more then just one item and would not require many if statements unlike if you where to check if the user has an item via if statements like what @FP_Nation code does (I don’t recommend if you want many items doing what @FP_Nation put because it could get complicated quick with many items (due to the amount of if statements) and in general not super efficient with large amounts of items)