Nuclear Explosion

I’m not too big in the art department as I am a software engineer. But, in building my game, I implemented a tactical nuclear weapon. Below are two videos showing the entire detonation sequence from both the local server and the player’s viewpoint. Sound effects are included. I have not yet added the kill code or the blast code yet. So right now, it’s just the effect.

Nuclear Blast, Server

Nuclear Blast, Player

Comments? Suggestions?

3 Likes

The explosion after the hit seems a little bit fake
The rings might need some modifications

Thats all from me today
Thanks

2 Likes

The entire explosion sequence is made in two parts.

Part 1: The very bright orb that shrinks after the hit is a sphere that’s using neon material and colored white (#FFFFFF). The black sphere is black (#000000) and I’m reducing the transparency as it shrinks. Also, during this part, I have a point light (also white #FFFFFF) that starts from 0 brightness and 0 range and increases to maximum values of 40 and 60 respectively. This is all done within a single for loop.

Part 2: The expanding fireball is also a sphere of neon material of a yellow color that starts out with a transparency of 0 and gradually increases to 1. The same thing with the rings, which are SpecialMesh parts. This part is also done with a single for loop. The different rates of expansion are accomplished by using a multiplier on the for loop count variable for the vectors.

When I do the kill code, anything caught inside the fireball will be vaporized, as in a real nuke. The best that I can do with this effect is to kill the player, and then blast the parts with a large force. I’ve done this already with a rocket launcher.