Obby Checkpoints Script

I am new to lua scripting and tried to create an obby checkpoint system for my first obby game but it doesn’t seem to work, I will attach some screenshots of what I’ve done so far, comments are welcome.

checkpoint explorer

2 Likes

It seems like your code is on the right track! Here are some comments on your script:

1. Make sure that the script is a child of the part that will serve as the checkpoint. From your screenshot, it looks like the script is a child of the workspace, which might not work as intended.
  2. In the onTouch() function, you’re currently using player.Character.Humanoid to get the player’s humanoid. However, if the player dies and respawns, player.Character will be nil until they respawn again. You can use the CharacterAdded event to update the humanoid variable when the player respawns:
local humanoid = nil

function onCharacterAdded(character)
   humanoid = character:WaitForChild("Humanoid")
end

player.CharacterAdded:Connect(onCharacterAdded)
  1. You’re using RemoteEvents to communicate between the server and the client, which is a good approach. However, you’re sending the checkpoint number as an argument to the event, which can be exploited by players to skip checkpoints. Instead, you can send the instance of the checkpoint part itself and check if the player touches the correct checkpoint:
function onTouch(otherPart)
    local character = otherPart.Parent
    if character and character:FindFirstChild("Humanoid") and character.Humanoid.Health > 0 and otherPart == script.Parent then
        if not checkpointPassed then
            checkpointPassed = true
            game.ReplicatedStorage.CheckpointReached:FireClient(player, script.Parent) -- send the checkpoint part itself as an argument
        end
    end
end
  1. Finally, make sure that you’re adding the onTouch() function to the Touched event of the checkpoint part:
script.Parent.Touched:Connect(onTouch)