Optionally provide Luau type warnings during runtime in studio

It’s great to be able to specify types in Luau, however, for me it’s only really used for readability and VM optimizations. We need some way to see when type definitions / type assertions fail in studio. I’ve spent hours searching for elusive bugs that would have been found immediately with a feature like this. This mainly applies to providing incorrectly typed arguments to a function, and assigning the wrong type of value to a variable.

Here’s some context.

I’ve been working on my project full time since late 2015 and the full codebase currently has 200k lines spread across a few thousand ModuleScripts. I hope to reduce this by maybe 20%, but it takes time to refactor and remove legacy code. It’s only 125k (65k excluding empty lines) after compiling and stripping unused code / folding constant variables. Anyways, I can’t use inter-module type inferences so most of my code is type unsafe until after I compile it. This is because require(script.Parent.Parent.Utility) is horrible boilerplate and impractical for a project of this scale.

I also use array-based objects instead of string-based table types to minify codegen, reduce memory used by these objects, reduce unique strings, and improve execution peformance. Here’s a basic ModuleScript example that might exist in my game’s codebase:

HealthClass module example
--!nonstrict
-- HealthClass - Not really used, just an example.

--[[
_G.mR is added immediately before requiring a module and reverted after. It's used for
explicitly requiring modules by their unique "dataId". This allows modules to be replicated
to the client lazily (along with dependencies) as-needed. Unused code also gets stripped
from the game after compiling. This statement is removed from the compiled game during the
compile process; Data is then accessed using auto-generated upvalues/globals defined at the top.
]]
local _R = _G.mR{