Pantograph raising and lowering system

Hello! I am wanting to get a parts Y axis but from another parts X axis.

Basically I want to make the parts position be at the same position as the wire but the X axis being somewhere else along the wire and the Y axis being the same as image 2. If the cubes X axis was the lower point of the wire then the Y axis of the cube would be centered. Sorry for the bad explanation.

I assume its got something to do with CFrames and math but I’m not really good with CFrames or math. I’ve tried using chat GBT for help but that doesn’t really work because it doesn’t really understand me and it can’t read images.

Image 1:

Image 2:

Thanks to anyone that can help.

4 Likes

Hi, its been a couple hours and I’m really needing a solution to this.

If anyone would like me to add more things or explain some more please let me know.

Thanks!

2 Likes

Yeah, I dont understand exactly whats your goal.
What I understand is, that you want by scripting place a box along the wire.

Im not good at math either… but I think its easy.
For example, set the box CFrame to the same CFrame of the wire, then use the LookVector or any Vector to extend the CFrame coordinate of the Box along the wire, for example the half of the wire size, or certain studs

2 Likes

Ok lets try this.

I’m working on a pantograph for a train but wanting it so the pantographs hand (the top part) touches the wire and the way it works is it gets the Y axis of the wire so when its raised it’ll only raise to the very center height of the wire and not the height that’s above the pantograph. This works good when the wire is level because all the height is the same but when the wire is rotated then it think that the wire is all the same height when its not.

Do you understand what I’m trying to do a bit better?

As you can see its only raised to the center of the wire not the correct spot

1 Like

I think I get it now. I just learned what a pantograph is too… LOL