Part rotation script not working

I have rotating lasers in my game. While using run, the script works great and the laser union spins fine like so:

While playing the game(in studio or in the published client), the lasers are frozen and do not spin:

There are no errors in output relating to this script.

Here is the script:

local Angle = math.deg(.01)
local Part = script.Parent
RunService:BindToRenderStep("Rotation", 199, function(dt)
   if Part.Parent then
      Part.CFrame = Part.CFrame * CFrame.Angles(0, Angle * dt, 0)
   else
      RunService:UnbindFromRenderStep("Rotation") 
   end
end)

Help is greatly appreciated!

1 Like

I’m willing to wager that the issue lies in the kind of script you’re running. Do you think it would be possible to recreate the functionality of these lasers within a LocalScript instead?

1 Like

Why would I want to use a localscript for an event that should be handled by the server?

Well, I’m no expert on the engine, but I’ve honestly had much better luck with doing things like this on the client, as it’s generally more reliable and snappy. That, coupled with the video footage you shared, leads me to believe that the changes to the lasers aren’t being replicated properly.
Either changing the server code or localizing the lasers turning would be your best bet.

2 Likes

I think that instead of doing renderstepped do this.

while wait(3.61) do

for i = 1, 360, 1 do
part.CFrame = Part.CFrame * CFrame.Angles(0, 0, i)
--or

local iv = math.deg(i)

part.CFrame = Part.CFrame * CFrame.Angles(0,0,iv)
end

end

idk if it works but try it anyways.

This wont work, it’ll just execute the code in the body of the while loop and then wait 3.6 seconds. To solve the problem you need to use RunService.Heartbeat or something else entirely as renderstepped does not fire on the server.
See:

https://developer.roblox.com/en-us/api-reference/event/RunService/RenderStepped