Particle on a Humanoid

I made a run animation and thought of adding a “Dust Trail” or have Particles on the characters feet. Is it as simple as just adding particle emitters through starter character? I’m new to scripting so you might have to explain some of it

7 Likes

I think this might help you, i hope this helps!

local ReplicatedStorage = game:GetService("ReplicatedStorage")
local Particles = ReplicatedStorage:FindFirstChild("Put your Particle name here") --Remember to put Your particle in ReplicatedStorage!

local Parts = script.Parent:GetChildren()

for _, Part in pairs(Parts) do
    if Part:IsA("BasePart") or Part:IsA("Part") or Part:IsA("MeshPart") then
        local ParticlesInChar = Particles:Clone()
        ParticlesInChar.Parent = Part
    end
end)
1 Like

Thank you! Where would I exactly put all of this stuff? Meaning where would I put the script or the “part”. Sorry but like before I’m not perfect at reading scripts.

1 Like

Put the script in StarterPlayer > StarterCharacterScripts, i think this would work.

1 Like

adsadsd

Here is what everything looks like. I tried using a local script because I didn’t know what kind of script and none of them worked

1 Like
local Particles = ReplicatedStorage:FindFirstChild("ParticleEmitter") --Remember to put Your particle in ReplicatedStorage!

Have you changed the Particle name? Also, there’s any error?

1 Like

Hey, i found the error! Here is the fixed script:

local Particles = ReplicatedStorage:FindFirstChild("Put your Particle name here") --Remember to put Your particle in ReplicatedStorage!

if Part:IsA("BasePart") or Part:IsA("Part") or Part:IsA("MeshPart") then
    end
end

Try to read a bit in the Output and check the errors to fix :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Yeah before nothing was showing in the output idk why. Ill try this

What I would do would be relatively simple: