Particles... Now in stunning 3D!

I made an effects module that I use in a lot of my games, but decided I was going to release it to the public because why not. It’s not very optimized and a bit CPU expensive because I’m not that good at keeping that stuff low, but that doesn’t mean you can’t use it for emphasis at certain times. :wink:

Here’s an example of what it can do:

Oh and here’s the module too.

I have some API stuff listed on the inside of the script, you’ll want to read it for warnings and help, but yeah.
Take note it’s not finished, and again, not perfect, but it’s an optional thing so it’s up to you whether you want to use it or not. Though, if you do use it, credit would be appreciated. :slight_smile:
Oh, and one final note. When using this module, be aware that I might accidentally break it from time to time, so use it with caution, lol.
Enjoy!

7 Likes

Creating and destroying so many parts creates a lot of overhead.
It would be ideal if we could do this from an actual engine feature.
This does serve as a good view of how good it could look for certain styles.
Neat module regardless.

3 Likes

Not sure if you do this yet, but you appear to be using blocks that spawn/despawn over and over.

To optimize this you could create a 1x1x1 part and put a BlockMesh inside then set the scale to your part’s size to reduce the amount of processing being done. After that you should recycle parts (as a part gets deleted don’t actually delete it, just resize it and put it back at the start of the animation cycle).

1 Like

Not bad suggestions. I’ll try them out later. Especially on the mesh idea!