Perlin Noise-Based Terrain Generation

Hello everyone! I’m new to Roblox Dev forum, and I’d like to share a terrain generation system based on Perlin noise that I’ve been working on for my game, Airlift.

In essence, 3D PN creates a series of numbers that flow into each other. If you assign these numbers to a place on a grid, it can create entire mountains and valleys for you! I chose to make it so when a value was high enough and it was considered a mountain, the number would be multiplied in order to create those steep cliffs that you see. After all of the terrain tiles were in place, I added another layer of Perlin noise to decide where trees would spawn, creating a forest kind of look.

When doing research on this topic, it was difficult for me to find resources relevant to what I wanted to create on Roblox. So if any of you are looking to make a similar system and would like my help, please reach out! Perlin noise isn’t as difficult as it sounds, but is a really powerful tool for realistic terrain and I’d love to help you get there.

Feedback/questions are very welcome : )

17 Likes
looks a bit like the game

minecraft

4 Likes

Haha yeah, Minecraft uses Perlin noise as well. I’ll just have to make a better game than Minecraft so people will say they ripped off of me.

7 Likes

It’s really cool! I always love to see procedurally generated terrain, especially with different types of gradient noise. Also love the terrain colors, they really flow well. Definitely interested in doing something like this for myself.

1 Like

Very nice. Back in the day I also tried doing something similar but somewhere along the lines I messed up and it ended up making a ton of holes in the ground at higher elevations. Would be nice to see the source of this :smile:

1 Like

The game looks very interesting but, too bad it’s not unlimited. But it’s still very good!

1 Like

It can be made infinite with a load/unload chunk system (like minecraft)

@iMajesticMuffins to the OP: