Personal Checkpoints per Player

Hey all!

I’m gonna keep this simple. I’m currently creating a game which is a very long and challenging obby. I want to give the players their own freedom to set their checkpoints wherever they want too. The players would press the button C on their keyboard to set the checkpoint and then the letter V to teleport back to that checkpoint they have set. The problem is, I am very new to scripting, and I have absolutely no idea how to make that work.

If anyone has any suggestions, it would be much appreciated!
Thank you.

Maybe set the Checkpoint’s CFrame(Posiiton) to the player’s current position

I’d recommend the following logic:

1. Create a function using ContextActionService (BindAction) that listens to the C and V keycodes
  2. If the key is C then it sets the checkpoint, by getting their Character’s HumanoidRootPart Position and setting it as a variable.
  3. If the key is V then they’re teleported via MoveTo back to that saved position.
local ContextActionService = game:GetService("ContextActionService")
local Players = game:GetService("Players")

local LocalPlayer = Players.LocalPlayer

local SET_CHECKPOINT_KEY = Enum.KeyCode.C
local GOTO_CHECKPOINT_KEY = Enum.KeyCode.V

local SavedCheckpoint;

local function doesPlayerHaveCharacter()
	return (LocalPlayer.Character and LocalPlayer.Character:IsDescendantOf(workspace) and LocalPlayer.Character:FindFirstChild("HumanoidRootPart"))
end

local function checkpointAction(action, ioState, ioObject)
	if ioState == Enum.UserInputState.Begin and doesPlayerHaveCharacter() then
		if ioObject.KeyCode == SET_CHECKPOINT_KEY then
			SavedCheckpoint = LocalPlayer.Character.HumanoidRootPart.Position
			print("Saved Checkpoint!") -- You might want to add some kind of pop-up?
		elseif SavedCheckpoint then
			LocalPlayer.Character:MoveTo(SavedCheckpoint)
		end
	end
end

ContextActionService:BindAction("SetCheckpointAction", checkpointAction, true, SET_CHECKPOINT_KEY, GOTO_CHECKPOINT_KEY)
2 Likes