Pixel Game Project: Dev Logs

Dev Log 1 [8/31/24]

Hello!
I am currently making a pixel game and I would like to create Dev Logs on my progress. I know making a pixel game is not very optimized for Roblox Studios, but as an indie developer, I think I would like to explore new paths to Roblox. I am also very new to this (development on Roblox studios, pixel art, scripting, etc.) and I’d like to take new challenges for commit to this project.

Anyways…

Today I made my first ever tile sets, Yay!

I did this using a program called Aseprite and I made my tiles based off of a 16 tile dual-grid tilemap.
Fundamentally following this:
Credits to golddotasksquestions for the screenshot.

In the long run, this should help me so I only have to make a few tile maps instead of hundreds, but it’s going to need a lot of scripting I currently don’t know how to do…

Oh well! Another day. Thanks for reading this though if you found it and I will keep update on it.

1 Like

Dev Log 2 [9/1/24]
Heyo!
New little update on my project. I noticed that the grass had patterns which can be hard on the eyes a little bit seeing it over and over again. So! I made variation…

Ta da!

The pattern on the left is created in a diagonal pattern where as the right one is random variation from your’s truly spamming work. I think I prefer the random variation more as it feels a bit more natural.

Not sure how I am going to implement this into Roblox, but I think a random generation script should work? This is coming from somebody with no scripting experience…

Alas! Push that to another day.

This is now our updated sheet though, It was 128x128, but to put the new tiles in I had to push it to 128x160.

No biggie! Still a small amount of tiles to be creating and managing.

Focus Points
Woah new bold title. Yeah I figured I should put what I need to do next to keep track of things.