"Player has joined the game" message on ROBLOX's Default Chat?

Hello, my name is HeIIoISteaIUsernames, and I’m new to the Developer Forum. I don’t know my way around the website, so it’d be nice if someone can guide me on certain things.

Anyways, I want to make a “Player has joined the game” message on ROBLOX’s default chat, similar to this.

(but with the message saying: "[Server]: HeIIoISteaIUsernames has joined the game.)

I’ve got my Server speaker all set up and ready to go, but it’s the PlayerAdded event I’m having problems with.

--Services
local ServerScriptService = game:GetService("ServerScriptService")
local Players = game:GetService("Players")

--Modules
local ChatService = require(ServerScriptService:WaitForChild("ChatServiceRunner"):WaitForChild("ChatService"))

--Variables
local Server = nil

--Code
if not ChatService:GetChannel("All") then
 while true do
 	local ChannelName = ChatService.ChannelAdded:Wait()
 	if ChannelName == "All" then
 		break
 	end
 end
end

--Joining the "All" Channel + Customization
Server = ChatService:AddSpeaker("Server")
Server:JoinChannel("All")
Server:SetExtraData("ChatColor", Color3.fromRGB(255, 255, 255))
Server:SetExtraData("NameColor", Color3.fromRGB(72, 218, 106))

--Player Joined event
Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(player)
 Server:SayMessage(tostring(player.Name).." has joined the game", "All")
end)

NOTE
The output isn’t printing out anything, and the chat isn’t showing anything. I’ve tried numerous attempts to solve the problem solution ,but the result is still the same.

I don’t know how to tackle this problem (yet), so any help is appreciated. Thanks in advanced.

4 Likes

Try adding this at the end so that it goes through every player already in the game that don’t get registered by your PlayerAdded event by the time it starts listening.

for i,v in ipairs(Players:GetChildren()) do
	Server:SayMessage(tostring(v.Name).." has joined the game", "All")
end
4 Likes