Pondering DataStores - Why DataStore2?

Hello there, I’ve been a developer for a long time but recently started poking around the Roblox ecosystem. I found the Data Store limitations an interesting problem to solve and built a proof-of-concept implementation for my game project.

I don’t know if this is the right forum or considered good-form but I have questions about someone else’s (publicly available, published) code. Specifically DataStore2

Prior to discovering the DataStore2 package, I built my own simple caching solution that throttles updates to the store. It seems to work reasonably well as a proof-of-concept. Later, I discovered DataStore2 exists and given the number of references to it and claims of reliability, I started digging into the implementation.

Functionally our caching mechanism is very similar (trivially, hold a per-player table in memory) but beyond that, the design to prevent data loss diverges.

My concept was this: hold data store updates in memory just long enough to prevent hitting API quota limits then do writing. Then tune the frequency of writes to account for the number of data stores you want to write to.

DataStore2 takes a different approach of storing everything in memory until the player leaves or the server shuts down and then writing (unless explicitly asked to save). They also use the so-called “OrderedBackups” or “berezaa’s method” of saving data which appears to be saving every instance of player data changes over time.

This raised some questions in my mind that I cannot find answers to.

NOTE: These questions are out of curiosity - I assume I may be missing something and/or that DataStore2 was developed with requirements or limitations I do not understand or are no longer relevant (it looks like it was developed a few years ago).